Apart from Summer Red, can you suggest the next toughest for my area? Is there any guide to checking what would be an appropriate rootstock for different areas? As noted – select good young healthy specimens and endeavour to mimic the natural/preferred environment for these beautiful trees. Can only say if the plant receives morning sun, is growing in relative free draining soil, and there are no shoots from the root stock ie below the graft and it has regular watering then it should flower . Hi Angus In my own garden, as a professional, I know what to look for in a plant that needs water – clients often don’t. Hi Angus, Thanks, Hi, I have a 10 year old red flowing gum located in the eastern suburbs of Sydney which has become very spindly. Am I going to lose the whole big tree or is there anyway I can try and save it please? Note: Please check stock availability by contacting our office or refer to our Availability List on the Products page. Placing a good quality plant into a soil that does not get waterlogged at any stage plus regular pruning each year after flowering to maintain good vegetative vigour correlates with much better performance from my observations. Don’t add any more soil over its root zone as this can cause fungal problems around the base of the trunk from moisture build-up and will also suffocate the main growing roots near the surface. I can send you pictures of the plant if it would help. Does not look good for a long term recovery and my only suggestion is to give the plant a long, deep drink and hope you flush the fertiliser away from the roots. The gum trees are really amazing and very beautiful! Question From: in Blackburn Sth, Blackburn Sth Victoria…, Question From: in San Diego, San Diego International…, Question From: in Ashmore , Ashmore Queensland Nature…, Question From: in Northgate, Brisbane Queensland Nature of…. The unfortunate issue is that gardeners, particularly new gardeners, become disillusioned when they have large plant losse